Will The Hawk Be Voted Into the Hall?

Posted on 29 December 2008 by Lou

After the disappointment Ron Santo felt a few weeks back when the veterans committee failed to vote anyone into the MLB Hall of Fame, we should know very soon whether the Cubs and Andre Dawson will fell anymore disappointment when the Baseball Writers of America release the results of their votes for the 2009 Hall of Fame inductees.

Up on the ballot for the 8th time is Cubs legend Andre Dawson – the “Hawk”. In 2008, the writers only inducted one major leaguer – Goose Gossage. In order to gain access to the Hall, a player needs to reach 75% of the vote for that year – Jim Rice received 72.2 %; the Hawk received 65.9%: and Bert Blyleven received 61.9%. Rice, Blyleven, and first-ballot outfielder Rickey Henderson will be potential players who could steal votes away from Dawson.

Dawson won the NL Rookie of the Year Award in 1977 and the NL MVP Award in 1987. During the magical 1987 season, Dawson hit .287, 49 home runs and 137 RBI’s – all for the worst team in the NL – the Chicago Cubs. During his 21 major league seasons Dawson won 8 Gold Glove Awards and was named to the All-Star Team 8 times. Dawson was also named the Player of the Year by the Sporting News in 1981 and 1987.

Good luck Hawk – here’s to seeing you in the Hall soon!

andre dawson.jpg

Photos from our Flickr stream

See all photos

Advertise Here