Tag Archive | "Bert Blyleven"

Tags: , , , , ,

Lee Smith & Rafael Palmeiro Denied Chance at Hall of Fame — Wrigley Field 1/5/11

Posted on 05 January 2011 by Lou

Former Cubs players — Lee Smith and Rafael Palmeiro — were both denied entrance into the Hall of Fame.  Smith received just 45 percent of the vote while Palmeiro received 11 percent of the vote.  Palmeiro is 1 of only 4 players to have at least 3,000 hits (3,020) and 500 home runs (569), but his legacy is marred by the fact that he tested positive for steroids back in July 2005, just months after he testified that he never used steroids during his professional baseball career in front of a congressional panel in March 2005.   Smith missed out for the 9th time — he was baseball’s saves leader at the time of his retirement with 478 saves and 802 games finished.  Trevor Hoffman (601 saves and 856 games finished) and Mariano Rivera (559 saves and 829 games finished) have each surpassed Smith in those categories.

The 2011 Hall of Fame Class will include just 2 players — Roberto Alomar who garnered 90% of the vote and Bert Blyleven who received 79.7% of the vote…

Comments (0)

Tags: , , ,

At Last – Andrew Dawson Elected to Hall of Fame

Posted on 06 January 2010 by Lou

chicago cubs andre dawson

It was well worth the wait for Andre Dawson, as 77.9 of eligible Baseball Writers’ Association of America voted the “Hawk” into the Hall of Fame on Wednesday.  I guess the 9th time was a charm for Dawson, as he waited 8 long years in order to get elected.  Dawson appeared on 420 of 539 ballots.  He was the only player elected into the Hall of Fame this time around in one of the tightest races in Hall of Fame voting history.  Bert Blyleven finished just 5 votes short – receiving 74.2% of the vote.  1st year eligible player Roberto Alomar fell just 8 votes short with 73.7% of the vote.  Alomar received the most votes ever for a 1st time candidate without actually getting elected to the Hall of Fame.

Dawson will be inducted in Cooperstown, New York on July 25th.  Manager Whitey Herzog and umpire Doug Harvey – both of whom were elected into the Hall of Fame by the Veterans Committee – will also be inducted that day.

Dawson said it was an emotional journey over the past 9 years – “If you’re a Hall of Famer you’re eventually going to get in.  It was well worth the wait.  I can’t really describe the elation when my family and I got the call… Well, I shed some tears today.  I was nervous today and I was happy before the announcement.  I was optimistic.  For some reason I slept better last night than I have in the last 8 years.  I probably won’t feel the magnitude of it for a couple of days.  I’m still kind of light in the stomach.  My daughter and my wife showed a lot of emotion when I got the phone call.  Of course, I treid to keep myself contained.”

Dawson played 11 seasons with the Montreal Expos and then 6 seasons with the Chicago Cubs at Wrigley Field.  Dawson hit 438 career home runs and had 1,591 career RBI’s.

Congrats Hawk – you deserved it!

Comments (1)

Tags: , , , , ,

Will 2010 be the Hawk’s Year?

Posted on 28 December 2009 by Lou

chicago cubs andre dawson

Will Andre Dawson get the call he has been waiting for for so long on January 6, 2010?  Will the Baseball Writers’ Association of America place enough votes for Dawson to get elected to the Hall of Fame?  If it isn’t this year, it may never happen, as all the previous players who have received more votes than Dawson in the past are already enshrined as members of the Hall of Fame.  His stiffest competition will come from Bert Blyleven and Lee Smith.  Newcomers Roberto Alomar, Barry Larkin and Edgar Martinez could also siphon a few votes away from Dawson.  But given the numbers, this should be Dawson’s year.

Dawson had this to say about the 2010 announcement: “I’ve talked to a lot of Hall of Famers and they’ve echoed the same sentiments… You’ve just got to be patient.  It’s eventually going to happen.”

Let’s hope this January 6th brings some solace for Dawson – you deserve it Hawk!

Comments (1)

Tags: , , , ,

Andre Dawson Hoping to Enter Hall of Fame in 2010

Posted on 03 December 2009 by Lou

chicago cubs andre dawson

Andre Dawson is hoping that the 9th time’s the charm.  With current Hall of Famers like Ryne Sandberg and Tony Perez endorsing the “Hawk”, one would think that it’s only a matter of time for Dawson to get the call.  Dawson received 67% of the votes in 2009 (361 votes), but finished 3rd in the voting behind inductees Rickey Henderson (94.8% of the vote) and Jim Rice (76.4% of the vote).  A player needs to receive at least 75% of the vote in order to gain access to the Hall.

Dawson is the top-returning vote-getter in 2010, just ahead of Bert Blyleven (62.7%) and Lee Smith (44.5%).  Newcomers that could play a role in whether or not Dawson gets in include 2nd baseman Roberto Alomar, shortstop Barry Larkin and DH Edgar Martinez.  But none of the them have the numbers that Dawson put up during his 21 MLB seasons – .279 career batting average with 438 HR’s, 1,591 RBI’s and 314 stolen bases.  Dawson was named the NL Rookie of the Year Award winner in 1977 with the Montreal Expos.  Dawson won the MVP Award in 1987 with the Chicago Cubs – that year he hit 49 HR’s and drove in 137 runs – both tops in the NL.  Dawson is one of only 6 players to have hit 300 HR’s and stolen 300 bases.  And he is the only eligible player who has more than 1,000 career extra base hits who is not a member of the Hall of Fame.

While it seems clear to me that the Hawk should be inducted, Dawson is still not counting his eggs before they hatch: “Now there’s no one for me to hurdle.  Everyone’s behind me.  I think (2010) poses the biggest window for me.  I kind of, for a change, look forward to it.  I can’t say that’s always been the case in the past, because the writers make sure they don’t put in more than one or two in a particular year.”

Talk about a travesty of justice.  If the Baseball Writers of America do not vote the Hawk in this time around, we really need to assess the voting credentials of these guys.  It’s a shame that Dawson is not in the Hall of Fame, so let’s keep out fingers crossed on January 8, 2010 when the results are announced.

Comments (0)

Photos from our Flickr stream

See all photos

Advertise Here